Posts

Arrested for California Penal Code Section 273.5?

 

California Penal Code Section 273.5 and 13700-13702 are the state laws that give definition to domestic violence in California Superior Courts.

It states: “Any person who willfully inflicts upon a person who is his or her spouse, former spouse, cohabitant, former cohabitant, or the mother or father of his or her child, corporal injury resulting in a traumatic condition, is guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a fine of up to $6,000 or by both that fine and imprisonment.

What are the differences between a domestic violence bond and other bonds?

– First Domestic Violence Bonds are probably the only bond that the reported victim is generally the cosigner for the bond

– Secondly domestic violence PC 273.5 bonds often have problems other bonds don’t have. The biggest problem that often happens is a person is arrested and a bail bond is posted. Court dates for DV are generally within 5 days which is very fast. This doesn’t give the District Attorney’s office much time to file charges. If you show up at your court date and charges have not yet been filed the court will automatically exonerate/ void the bail bond 15 days after this date. If charges are filed after this time you will most likely show up at court and need a bail bond.

– There maybe temporary/ restraining orders in place between the defendant and others that maybe part of the bond

What happens if the District Attorney declines to file charges?

There are many times when someone is arrested by a police officer or sheriff for domestic violence and the district attorney does not pick the case up. This means the DA does not chose to file charges against who was arrested. This can happen for several reasons such as there isn’t enough information or proof to win the case. This means you were arrested and posted bond but the case is not being filed against you.

Will you still have to pay the bondsman if the charges are not filed?

The straight forward answer is yes. Across the board when a “Bond” is posted the premium is earned the moment the defendant either steps foot out of jail or court. The liability could be for a day or a year or longer but it starts the minute a person is released. Very often initially no charges are filed within the 15 days or even 60 days and the client don’t want to pay the balance only to find out they need another bond and are happy they did because the bondsman can reassume the original bond and save you a lot of money.

What should I do if they call from jail?

Remember that the phone is recorded. You do not want to discuss any part of you case over the phone. Make sure you ask them what police or sheriff department they are at? Make sure you get their exact spelling of their name and date of birth. Remind them to not talk to the police until they have a criminal defense attorney with them.

If you are wanted for questioning, being charged with or a loved one is in jail arrested for domestic violence please call Chad Conley, Owner of Chad Conley Bail Bonds.